Religious teachings in a non religious house

Anyone that knows my family knows that we aren’t religious. Mike and I went to church when we were kids and got all the Sunday schooling we feel we needed. We have bibles of all sorts here on the shelves for the boys to read as well as books with parables in them. They have never stepped foot in a church.

That said, we DO teach religious themed things as they are brought up in conversations. Yesterday, for instance, Dan asked about Noah and the Great Flood. We got out the books and read about it, he asked questions and we answered them. For three hours, we had religious teachings. Now, before any of my friends starts in on us about church, I know what I’m doing. I HAVE taught them many religions and we celebrate our Higher Powers individually. I pray to my Goddess, Mike goes back to his Catholic roots and says Hail Marys. Sean prays often and Dan does as well, each to their own personal Jesus’. We celebrate the Solstices and Christmas, Kwanzaa and last year, Dan asked if we could do some Jewish celebrations for Christmas. We do not subscribe to any one religion because they all have good and bad points to them. We take from each what works for us and leave the rest.

I have studied Buddhism, Wicca, Dianism, Pentecost, Baptist, Catholic, Confucianism, Hinduism, Taoism and more. I have books and there is much on the internet about many religions. There is plenty of information for those seeking knowledge. I have given my sons the basics of Christianity, Wicca, Hinduism, Taoism and Confucianism. When they are old enough to want to try church, I’ll be more than happy to help them on their way. I might even decide to join them on the journey!

Tell me what you're thinking. Don't be shy!

