Yes, things just keep right on rollin. ugh

Well, Mike went back to the ER Sunday night with delirium and confusion. At one point he asked his sister what rank she was! Something is seriously wrong with my hubby but no one can seem to figure it out. This is the second episode in less than two weeks and I getting scared. He’s not the same person I married. Truthfully, I’m afraid it’s dementia or Parkinson’s.

The hospital did “routine” blood work, a ct scan of his brain and x-rayed his chest again but nothing showed. They did say his clotting was a little too fast so they put him back on the shots.

I have at least seven witnesses that have seen Mike in his “episodes”. Our therapist, Dans nurse, my brother, Sean, Dan, Mikes sister and brother-in-law and myself. The doctors and nurses at the hospital have documented it but they don’t know him like I do. I’ve been his constant companion for ten years. I think I know when there is something wrong with my husband. I think, next time, I’ll video tape him while I wait for the ambulance. That way I’ll have a recorded episode that I can take to our doctor. Where the hell is Dr. House when I need him??!!!

This whole thing, with Mike and having to give Dan shots every three hours is getting OLD, fast. I seriously don’t want to complain, I’m grateful they are both alive. It’s hard on me, emotionally, to watch the sudden deterioration of my husband and to keep Dans meds recorded and given at the right times. I’m drained, physically and emotionally. I want my husband back!!

Mike told Dan that he could give him his shots and Dan said “not the way you’ve been lately. You’ll put the needle someplace it’s not supposed to be or give me too much medicine” I know it hurt Mike but Dans right, Mike is NOT capable of giving shots.

Dan came to me, late last night and said “Thank you for being the greatest mom in the whole world. I love you, mommy”

Somehow, those words were what I needed to get me back in the swing of things. I wonder how he knew those words were needed at that moment in time.

One thought on “Yes, things just keep right on rollin. ugh

  1. Greetings! I’ve been reading your website for some time now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Lubbock Tx! Just wanted to tell you keep up the great work! Denis

    Like

Tell me what you're thinking. Don't be shy!

